TANK MEMORIAL YPRES SALIENT -                            Poelkapelle, Belgium

UPDATE! Tank Corps - Belgium100 2017


1. The TMYS Garden of Remembrance accompanied by the flags of the UK, Belgium & the Tank Corps with included 'Book of Remembrance' will be set up in the Langemark-Poelkapelle Town Hall entrance foyer. This commemoration will run from June 7th 2017 until November 11th 2017.

2. The Tank Corps flag will be raised above the TMYS throughout this same period likewise.

3. The 2017 annual TMYS ceremony will take place at 5pm on Saturday June 10th 2017 at the memorial in the presence of the Gentleman Usher of the Black Rod & TMYS Honorary President Lt General David Leakey CMG CBE. He will be accompanied by TMYS Vice President Lt (Retd) Ian Robertson formerly of the Irish Guards & Great Nephew of Captain Robertson VC. A reception will then be held in the nearby "Postduif" cafe. All attending the ceremony are invited.

4. This will be followed with a dedicated inclusion within the Menin Gate 8pm last post ceremony. *See LPA calendar here; www.lastpost.be 
 The evening will conclude with the "Toast of Remembrance" at cost in a nearby suitable venue. To be confirmed on the day.

5. A dedicated Tank Corps service of remembrance will take place in St George's Memorial Church, Ypres on Sunday morning, June 11th 2017 @ 09.30hrs also in the presence of General David & Ian Robertson with the VC awarded to Captain Clement Robertson VC, this being the first of four to be awarded to the Tank Corps during WW1. On conclusion of the service coffee and biscuits will be available in the adjoining Eton Memorial hall.

6. An online commemoration will be set up on the TMYS web site to run from June 7th 2017 until November 11th 2018 which will include the names of all 243 WW1 Tank Corps soldiers & the single WW2 Royal Tank Regiment soldier commemorated by the TMYS.

7. In conjunction with the Mayor's office of Zonnebeke, I am delighted to confirm that my proposal offered to the Mayor that the former bridge location spanning the Reutelbeek at Reutel be raised to the status of a "Memorial Bridge" and officially named "Robertson's Bridge" with included signage including reference to the award of the VC on 4 October 1917. A dedication ceremony has been proposed for 09.30hrs at the brook crossing on 4 October 2017. All are welcome.


TMYS inclusions within the Menin Gate Memorial daily last post ceremonies for 2017.

Please click on the below highlighted Last Post Association web site links for the following inclusions;

TMYS inclusion commemorating the 3 x 3 RTR light tanks which fought in the defence of Ypres on 28 May 1940 culminating in the awards of the DSO, MC & DCM.

TMYS annual ceremony day inclusion commemorating the first use of British armour within the Ypres Salient & the successful Battle of Messines.

TMYS inclusion commemorating 136 British tanks which deployed or who were available on 31/July/1917 the 1st day of the 3rd Battle of Ypres.

TMYS inclusion commemorating the Maison du Hibou, Cockcroft & Gallipoli farm actions.

TMYS inclusion commemorating the 1st VC to the Tank Corps awarded to Capt Clement Robertson Tank Corps.

TMYS inclusion commemorating the Nov 20th 1917 Battle of Cambrai.

Commemorating the Battle of Cambrai & supporting attending RTRA Branches.

Commemorating the Battle of Cambrai & supporting attending RTRA Branches.

Commemorating the Battle of Cambrai & supporting attending RTRA Branches.


A massive THANK YOU from the Chairman.

To all friends who have paid their initial & annual subscription fees and or offered donations to be used where requested;

The TMYS receives no official finance whatsoever and can only function correctly due to wonderful assistance offered so kindly by the memorial's own Friends organisation.

Every single penny or euro-cent received is used for the purchase of poppy wreaths and replacement memorial flags when required.*See below images. 

They also assist with the purchase of the TMYS Standard Bearer's uniform & Standard accoutrements. 

The wreaths are normally placed by TMYS representatives in your absence whenever required however, it is customary for the friends themselves to have the honour of placing the official annual ceremony TMYS wreath if in attendance. 

Without your amazing and dedicated act of financial assistance, the above would simply not be possible to achieve. Thank you. Thank you all!

Friends of the TMYS Standard Bearer Wayne Evans with loyal friends Frank Mahieu & Liz Millward & piper Pierre Dervaux. Also included are Chris Lock & Milena Kolarikova, founders of the TMYS and Chairman & Assistant Chairman of the Friends of the TMYS.

@Menin Gate Memorial to the Missing famous last post ceremony.


THE TMYS & it's Memorial Committee is supported wherever possible by:

Regimental Headquarters Royal Tank Regiment

Langemark-Poelkapelle Authority

St George's Memorial Church, Ypres (courtesy of Chaplain Revd Brian Llewellyn)

The Friends of the Tank Memorial Ypres Salient & the Royal Tank Regiment Association Nottingham Branch

Please note the Friend's Board of Administrators with all posts being honorary;

Lt Gen (Retd) David Leakey CMG CBE

Vice President;
Lt (Retd) Ian Robertson - formerly Irish Guards. Great Nephew of Captain Clement Robertson VC. (1st VC to be awarded to the Tank Corps)
Chris Lock - formerly Royal Tank Regiment
Assistant Chairman & Friends Membership Secretary;
Milena Kolarikova-Lock BA


Lt Col (Hon) Rene Declercq - formerly Belgian Army

RTR Representative;
Lt Col (Retd) Geoffrey Vesey Holt MBE
Ceremonial Assistant;
Andre Cloet - formerly Belgian Army

UK Representative;
John Allen: Great nephew of Gnr Cyril Allen DCM

French Representative;
Marie Pierre Williams

Media Representative;
Frank Mahieu

TMYS Standard Bearer;
Wayne Evans - formerly 5th Royal Inniskilling Dragoon Guards & Cheshire Yeomanry Squadron, The Queens Own Yeomanry.

Honorary Life Member;
Graham Morley.

All friends receive dedicated invitations to the TMYS annual ceremony, annual Friends newsletter, Friends of the TMYS bronze membership pin badge.
For information concerning membership of the Friends of the TMYS & above ties & pins, please contact: Honorary Assistant Chairman & Membership Secretary:
Milena Kolarikova-Lock BA astchairman.memsec.fottmys@gmail.com


A tribute to the former Friends of the TMYS Vice President;
the late Lt (Retd) Eric Smallwood RTR.

Lt Eric Smallwood was a Troop Leader who commanded a troop of Comet tanks from the 1st Royal Tank Regiment during the allied assault through Netherlands and into Germany during WW2. 

He commanded the first British tank to enter Hamburg and was later present at the capitulation meetings also attended by Red Army Commander Georgi Zukov. 

Every year since WW2 & right up to his recent death, Lt Eric visited the town of Echt in the Netherlands to apologise to the people for blowing up their church whilst successfully destroying a German Tiger tank but sadly losing comrades in the process.

Today representatives of the Friends continue to carry on these duties where Lt Eric left off to ensure his memory and that of his fallen comrades are not forgotten.

Lt Eric Smallwood during his WW2 Royal Armoured Corps training phase & alongside his Comet tank once serving with the 1st Royal Tank Regiment.

Lt Eric wearing his tank suit (Pixie suit) & as Vice President of the Friends of the TMYS.

TMYS Vice President Lt (Retd) Eric Smallwood & TMYS founder and Chairman of the Friends of the TMYS Chris Lock represent the TMYS at the burial service of a Known Unto God New Zealand soldier, recently recovered from the battlefields.

British armour from B Battalion Tank Corps supported the assault troops from II ANAZAC and hence a representation was required. 

Website Builder provided by  Vistaprint